Cuban migrants in November at the Peñas Blancas border after Nicaragua closed its borders to Cuban migrants. Photo Esteban Felix AP
Costa Rica has been joined on Monday by eight Latin American countries in calling on the United States to end its special treatment for Cuban migrants.
The Foreign Ministers of Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru and Costa RSica signed a letter, delivered by the Ecuadorean Foreign Minister to U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry, expressing their “deep concern” that U.S. policy toward Cuban migrants is creating a humanitarian crisis and encouraging “a disorderly, irregular and unsafe flow of Cubans.”
“Cuban citizens risk their lives, on a daily basis, seeking to reach the United States,” the letter says. “These people, often facing situations of

… continue reading article at Click here to go to the source article.